top of page

How to Remove Stains and Odors From Bedsheets

Have you ever learnt Something new and thought, “Wow, I should have known about this snice “ Well I learnt about something new that was so perfect, I had to pass it on to you. And I believe you will love this hacks of mine

lets ride on into it now!!


Have you ever had a problem with getting smells or stains out of your sheets? Are you dealing with stubborn, yellowish, or dark sweat-like stains on your linens that just won't wash out? Well, I've got news for you. It's from body oil.* The natural oils that your skin produces can wreak havoc on fabric—and because it's oil, it can be tricky to wash out.


Aside from the usual washing machine and dryer (although I suppose you could also do this by hand in a tub, if that's your jam), you'll need a few extra items to clean sheets stained with body oils and odors.


  • Laundry detergent: Whichever kind you prefer

  • Dish soap: Yes, the kind you use in the kitchen sink, to help break apart the oils in the sheets.

  • Borax: This is a natural laundry booster that helps with odors but is also a safe all-fabric color-safe "bleach."

  • White distilled vinegar: This acts as a natural fabric softener, but it's also fantastic for neutralizing odors. Don't worry, vinegar dries "clean" in that there is no vinegar scent left once the fabric is fully dry. I use vinegar in every one of my laundry loads (including delicates), and it does no damage.

How to Clean Those Stinky, Oily Sheets!

Add laundry detergent to machine. To the empty washing machine, add however much detergent you normally use for a load of sheets. I usually go for about 2/3 of the cup that comes with the detergent, then throw in the cup so it gets all the soap off while washing.

  1. Use hot water. Set your machine to the hottest setting on a normal or normal/heavy load. I use the hot/cold setting (wash in hot water, rinse in cold).

  2. Add dishwashing soap. Add three good squirts directly into the flow of the water (to ensure that it mixes in real good). My "3 squirts" rule probably works out to about three tablespoons or just under a quarter cup of dish soap.

  3. Add Borax. Sprinkle about 1/4 cup into the water. Once again, I eyeball this right out of the box.

  4. Put in the sheets and make sure they're all completely submerged in the water.

  5. Add 1/4 to 1/3 cup of distilled white vinegar to your washing machine's fabric softener dispenser. I always use a spare laundry detergent cup for this. If your machine doesn't have a fabric softener dispenser, you can either add the vinegar during the rinse cycle or get a Downy ball (see the Amazon link below) and toss that in.

  6. Let it soak for about 30 minutes once the washing machine has filled. This soak is important because it helps to break apart the oils in the sheets. I always leave the lid of my washing machine open for this step to prevent the wash cycle from starting up again.

  7. Let the wash cycle continue as usualafter your sheets have soaked. If you do not have a fabric softener dispenser or a Downy ball, be sure to add the vinegar during the rinse.

  8. Dry your sheets as usual. Since you already used vinegar, which is a natural fabric softener, you can skip the dryer sheets. You may also skip the fabric softener because it can make the body oil thing worse. I always prefer to use a dryer sheet because I like my sheets to be as soft as a baby's butt (and they've never caused problems with getting stains/oils out for me).

  9. Enjoy your super clean and super fresh sheets!




Questions & Answers

Question: Can baking soda be substituted for borax?

Answer: Baking soda and borax are both basic (alkaline) and have similar cleansing properties, however, borax is the better choice in this instance because it is MORE alkaline than baking soda and is, therefore, better at treating stains. You can substitute baking soda for borax when cleaning your sheets, but it may not be as effective.

Question: Is it possible to remove body oil stains and odors from sheets without the Borax? Or is it quite necessary?

Answer: You can give it a shot. I think the hot water soak and dish soap is the most important part. You can also try another laundry booster like Oxyclean.

Question: Won’t the dish washing liquid cause an over flow of suds all over the floor?

Answer: I haven't experienced this, and I've used it in both top-load and front-load washers. No more than 3 squirts for a top-loader, and about a half teaspoon for front-loaders should be fine. Question: If I accidentally put the vinegar in the wash the first time, will it deactivate the borax? Should I redo the soak?

Answer: Vinegar is acidic and borax is basic, so mixing the two would make the water's pH more neutral and cut the cleaning power of both. As long as you're using hot water and the dish soap, you should still see some benefit from the process, but for maximum effect, I would recommend redoing the soak.

Question: Do you think the suggestions on how to remove body oil stains from bed sheets would also work for massage sheets?

Answer: From massage oils? I don't see why not. However, if there is a lot of oil, you may need to repeat the process.

Question: How often should I wash bed sheets?

Answer: Do so every other week, and the sheets wash up perfectly. Weekly may be ideal for others, but this schedule works for me.

Question: Wouldn't a shower before bed also help reduce staining and yellowing of bed sheets?

Answer: Yes! Wearing a t-shirt helps too.

Question: Do you recommend using this method every time you wash your sheets to keep the stains at bay? I’m washing every 2 weeks.

Answer: Absolutely. I use this method every time.

Question: Do you have any suggestions for getting body oils out of a mattress?

Answer: This would be very difficult to do with any degree of success. I suggest treating the mattress with a fabric deodorizer such as Febreze, then getting a plastic mattress protector and machine-washable mattress pad. Put the mattress inside the plastic mattress protector, then put the mattress pad over the whole thing. That way, you'll protect the mattress from further staining, and you'll be able to wash the mattress pad rather than worry about the mattress itself. Question: How do you remove oil and odor from kitchen and bath towels? They never smell clean enough, and there are also oily stains on my dish towels.

Answer: The methods in this article are geared at removing oil and scents, so I don't see why they wouldn't work on towels or other linens, just make sure the fabric can be washed in hot water (otherwise reduce the temperature).


i hope have been able to help you guyz out we stop here for today till another if u have any questions or ideas comment down below 👇

PIN 📌 IT


subscribe to my blog

follow me on instagram

follow on pinterest

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page